“O woman, great is your faith!”

I come from a long line of strong women. I admire my mother and my Granny for always perservering through anything that comes their way. I have aunts as well who are to be admired for withstanding a lot of what life has thrown at them. Today my dear Granny is in a hospital fighting her way back from a terrrible stroke that hit her yesterday. Praise God that someone was with her when it happened. She lives alone and I hate to think what may have happened had she been alone for very long. God was at work, putting the right people in the right place at the right time. Today she is showing some improvement. Moving her right side which was paralyzed last night. She is a fighter.

This woman has called me every day and prayed for me for months during my healing and I know that God has heard her prayers. She is a God-fearing woman who believes in all that God has said and done and promises to us. This past Christmas, I took a photo of her hands and framed it for her children with words I had written to describe all the things that my Granny’s hands have done over the 82 years of her life. I pray that she will once again be able to use her hands to their fullest ability and truly be healed by the grace of God. I wanted to share what I had written and felt it was appropriate for today:

Granny’s Hands

They have kneaded dough for many a biscuit. They have stirred the batter for yellow cakes with chocolate icing and twisted the lid on to thousands of mason jars. They have held newborn children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, snapped a million green beans and a smacked a few bottoms. They have pulled strings through quilts and tied them off and pulled clothes through a wringer washer. They have squeezed clothespins to hang sheets on the line and steadied her for a climb up the stairs. They have pushed a broom, a mop and a paper towel across a dirty window. They have laid out countless plates on the table to feed a family and washed those plates afterwards. But most importantly they have turned the pages of the bible and laid palm to palm to our Lord in prayer.

I held her hand last night as she lay there fighting her fight and thought of all she has done. I pray today for God’s healing for her.

Psalm 41:3 The LORD sustains them on their sickbed and restores them from their bed of illness.

Leave a Reply

