“Impossible situation or possible blessing?”

 In keeping, with the theme of family and strong women from my last post, I felt the need to talk about my Mom today. My Mom, I think, was born to help people. She has always been one to step up and help someone out when they need it. She was a caregiver to a very special friend of hers many years ago and she continues to help with my Granny daily.

She has also been there for me during my anxiety. When it was at its worst, she would drop everything and come running if I needed her. This is a gift that God has equipped her with.  Not just as a Mom but as a caregiver. Having said that, there is a story I want to share about how mysteriously God works.  My Mom had worked for the postal service for twenty years, part-time, filling in when needed (which got to be quite often) and working every Saturday.  Several months ago, we had a power outage which caused our area to be without power for about two days. During the outage, my parents went out for a few hours to my Dad’s doctor appointment. While they were gone, the power came back on. My Mom had forgotten that when the power shut off that morning, she had been boiling water. When it came back on, the pot boiled dry, melted and started a small fire. They returned home that day to a house full of black smoke. Thankfully there was no fire damage, but the smoke had covered everything in the house in a thick layer of black dust. The whole house had to be cleaned, including furniture, carpets, contents of cabinets, etc. Of course, this upset my Mom and Dad and they had a lot to deal with; insurance, starting the cleaning process and have a professional cleaning crew come in to inventory everything and take it to be cleaned, staying in a hotel or at a neighbor’s until the house was suitable to live in again. My Mom was due to work the next two days and asked to be off. They refused. So she decided the job wasn’t worth it and she resigned. She had been contemplating it for a while but never followed through with it. That moment gave her the push she needed.  I told her there was a reason the fire happened and it finally gave her the courage she needed to resign from a place where she wasn’t being respected any longer.

Looking back now, I realize that had she still been working, she wouldn’t have been able to be there for me during the months I have struggled. Nor would she be able to be there for my Granny now during her time of need. As stressful as the whole fire incident was, it was something I believe that needed to happen in order for my Mom to use the gift God has given her. It was part of the plan. He was lining up events to make sure she would be there for us when we need her.

I am also thankful that my anxiety issues caused me and my Granny to become closer over the last few months. I’m not sure she will be the “same” Granny she used to be after her stroke, but she and I had some amazing conversations about God, faith, and prayer during those months and if I had to deal with all of this just to have that happen, then I will accept that as part of God’s plan too. It really is true that he knows what He’s doing. We can’t doubt that, even when it seems like the easiest thing to do. He often says to me “Trust Me”.  I hear that all the time in my head.  I try every day. It’s not always easy but it makes things easier to deal with when I accept that He is in control.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart – Jeremiah 29: 11-13

 

 

Leave a Reply

