“Reservations”

 Pity party…table for one. We will seat you now…..

I accused someone yesterday of having a pity party. Those words sounded strange coming from my own mouth, since I’ve made a few reservations for them myself recently. (No more!) We all do this from time to time. We sit down and have ourselves a cup of “woe-is-me”, a bowl of bitterness and a heaping helping of hopelessness. As I said above, it is a “table for one”. No one wants to come to our pity party. Why would they?

You can invite God to sit down with you but don’t expect him to brood with you. He’s not going to say “Yes, yes, you are right. You’re in terrible shape. You have nothing. You poor thing, how will you go on?”

But IF (big word), IF you say “God, I am sitting here feeling sorry for myself, will you please come into my heart and show me your blessings”, then He will sit down with you and He will start to open your eyes to all that is around you. There is always, always something to be thankful for. Even if it’s just the fact that you are able to get out of bed each day.

Just say thank you, God, for your blessings, praise Him in your storm and He will remove all those things on your “table”… those woes and bitterness and replace it with HOPE. A “dessert” for your party…something as satisfying as grandma’s apple pie, or for me, Granny’s homemade chocolate pie..a girl needs her chocolate : )

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing, you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect – Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

