“Reaping the Benefits”

“Our Lord has written the promise of the resurrection, not in books alone, but in every leaf in spring-time” ~ Martin Luther

Isn’t this time of year incredible? As we enter into this week and think about the resurrection, we can see all the amazing things around us coming to life again, just as Jesus did.

I am so thankful for an early spring. The winter was so hard on me, but the warm days and all the colors blooming have brightened my spirits. I have spent several evenings cleaning out my flower beds and preparing them for new flowers. I haven’t planted flowers in a few years. The outside work was hard enough on this single mom without the duty of keeping up with flowers. But thankfully I have help now, so I can go back to those things that bring me joy.

As I pulled the weeds, I thought about how they had taken over nearly every spot in the flower bed and how much cleaner and fresher it looked when I was done. Much like our hearts and minds, the weeds, the ugly stuff, can take over and consume us. We have to clean out those spaces and make room for all God has in store. Every corner. So that He can “plant” all of those blessings and love within us. But it doesn’t stop there. We have to maintain our hearts and minds often (just like the flower gardens) or the “weeds” will creep back in. It’s a constant effort to preserve that happiness and joy and beauty so that we can reap the outcome. Prayer for our hearts, water for our flowers and sunshine for both!

The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come ~ Solomon 2:12

Leave a Reply

