“Sunrise”

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son, so that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life ~ John 3:16 

I didn’t attend our church’s sunrise service this morning. Mainly for selfish reasons…I didn’t want to get up that early. I know that’s bad but its just the honest truth. But when I woke up at 7:15, the outside seemed to be calling to me. The sun was starting to come up over the hill across the river and I decided to have my own private sunrise service with God out on my deck. So I went out with my copy of “Jesus Calling”, which I read every morning (and highly recommend) and sat on the deck for some quiet time.

So it went like this, it was still a little chilly (I am a cold weather wimp), the sun was coming up but some clouds were in it’s way. The peaceful scene I had hoped for was interrupted by the creepy buzzards that occupy the tree by the river and had occupied most of the spot between the house and the river, a man was revving his boat motor and the heat pumped kicked on, adding more distraction.

But I decided to give it my best and read and prayed anyway. I spent a few moments talking to God and when I was done I opened my eyes and just sat there. The boat had moved on down the river and a dog came by and scared the buzzards away. Then two beautiful little birds flew by and played around and went on their way. The birds were singing louder than the heat pump and the clouds cleared so that the sun was shining right on my face and warmed my whole body.

It was a beautiful morning after all, on a day that means so much. God is so good. He gave us so much on this greatest of days. I hope everyone took a moment today to reflect on all that the past three days have meant and enjoy all that God blesses us with daily.

Leave a Reply

