“Battle Scars”

I have what I like to call “battle scars”. There are a couple obvious ones that can be seen on my body and there are the unseen ones that have left a mark on my heart, my soul and my mind.

One of the more obvious ones is the eight inch scar on my left side from having my kidney removed nine years ago. I was embarrassed by it at first but then I realized that it really is a symbol of a time in my life where I persevered through something major. I worked hard to recover and heal and God was by my side.

The other obvious one is a tattoo of a horse, his hair blowing in the wind as if he is running free. I chose this as a battle scar, a reminder that I had the courage to break free from an emotionally unhealthy relationship…that I was born free and will not be controlled. No fear. No fences. No reins. Like the wild mustangs I love so much. God was there also during this battle, with his hand on my back pushing me toward a new life where I would be safe and happy. I literally felt His hand on my back as I waged this war.

But this newest battle I have faced doesn’t show any physical signs from the outside. I love this quote I read today:

“What are these scars from?” she asked. “They’re battle wounds,” I replied. She looked at me for a long time. “Who were you battling?”
“Myself”

Yet God is with me, His hand on my back, pushing me again. Get up. Look up. Trust Me. My peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. Be still. Know that I am God.

Any battle you face can be won with God’s help. He is your armor, your protection. Without prayer, without relying on God, our efforts at spiritual warfare are useless. I can’t imagine anyone going through any type of struggle and not believing in God. He is where I turn in times of need. I know how powerful His healing is. I have felt it. I praise Him…even in the storm, in the battle, because I know He is the answer.

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes ~ Ephesians 6:10

Leave a Reply

