“Give It Away”

God is speaking to me through music a lot this week. I know it is because He knows my love for music and that’s one of the best ways to speak to me. The song I posted about a couple days ago was from John Waller. As I dug more into his music I found another song that I completely fell in love with. It’s called “Somebody Else’s Story”. Here is a sample of the lyrics:

“I wanna be a part of somebody else’s story. Somebody else’s story of redemption”

“It’s my desire. Lord you would use me to change somebody else’s destiny”

And my favorite line:

“This hope in me was not meant to be contained inside…I’ve got to give it away. Give it away”

I don’t know that I am worthy of changing someone’s life but when I write this blog and I get positive feedback, I feel like I am doing something worthy for God. It’s not just about me anymore. I want to take what God has given me, the good, the bad and the ugly and turn it into something positive. Isn’t that why He leads us through these times? So that we can see how He works when we believe? If I can focus on helping others, it will take the focus off of me and my issues will become smaller.

I was nervous about putting so much of myself out there for people to read. A lot of us are sometimes embarrassed by showing people our faith, our beliefs. But the bible says “But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father who is in heaven”. The first time I decided to post my blog on Facebook (a bigger audience) I feared how people would react. Would they think I was pushing my religion on them? But then I thought about all of the negative things I see on there. No one seems to care if that offends me so why should I be afraid to shout to the world about how God is changing my life?

It’s the same with the bracelet I wear every day. My I AM SECOND BRACELET. A lot of people ask what it means. Why are you second? I say “because God is first”. I’ve had maybe one person say, “that’s a great way to look at it”. Most of the time the reaction I get is “oh”. They don’t get it but I don’t care. It’s what I believe and I wear it proudly.

Don’t be afraid to show the world your love for God. It may change someone’s story. Someone may come into your life and need to hear about God. Someone who is unsure and just needs a positive influence. If you feel the need, do it. That’s God showing you how to make an impression on someone’s life…someone’s story. Someone who may need it.

Do you tell people about God? Think about ways to do it. Even if it’s something small.

Leave a Reply

