“The Bigger Picture”

“If God brings you to it, He will bring you through it.”

A couple nights ago I had a dream. I was driving along a road and it suddenly started to become very steep. There were tall, rocky cliffs on the left and the right side was the edge of a cliff. A complete drop-off. About half way up this steep hill, I saw that some trees had fallen and the road was blocked. There was no place to turn around so I had no choice but to back down the hill. I kept thinking I could end up over the side if I didn’t travel carefully. I backed up a little bit and when I looked back up the hill, I realized that there was a path to the left that I didn’t notice before and it was wide enough for me to drive through. I moved forward, passed the fallen trees and made my way to the top.

As I told Greg about the dream the next day, I realized how it was a perfect metaphor for how God works in our lives. When we are so close to our struggles, the things that are blocking our way, we can’t focus. All we can see is the problem at hand. But if we step back and take a look at the bigger picture, God’s plan for us, then we can see how He can open up a path and lead us to where we need to go.

I believe God brought that dream to me. I needed it. It’s so easy to become consumed with our issues, that we forget that God already has our plan, our road, laid out. Parts of it are smooth and paved and parts are bumpy and full of potholes and obstacles. We just simply need to remember that He is in control of the wheel. The ride will be a lot easier if we accept that.

Proverbs 16:9 “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps”

Leave a Reply

