“A Day to Pray”

“Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord” ~ Psalm 33:12

“Our founding fathers also called for prayer during the Constitutional Congress. In their eyes, our recently created nation and freedoms were a direct gift from God. And being a gift from God, there was only one way to insure protection-through prayer” – taken from www.nationaldayofprayer.org

Today is National Day of Prayer. This day was established in 1775 to remember the founding fathers of our nation who called upon and relied on God to help guide them. Today, people gather for that same reason. To continue to prayer for our nation, our leaders and the people of our country.  I plan to attend our county’s service at noon today and I am looking forward to it. What a beautiful sunshiney day for a call to prayer across our nation. As I read the statement above, it made me a little sad that the foundation this country was built on no longer stands as strong  as it once did. Prayer has been taken from our schools, God’s name is being removed everywhere just because it offends a handful of people. What about me and the rest of us who still believe in God? We are offended too! I could go off on a rant about that, but I will save that for another day.

Prayer is a powerful thing. Prayer changes things. We pray for God to strengthen us in times of need. We pray for guidance in all areas of our life, big or small. We pray for God’s protection over ourselves, our families, our friends, churches and our nation. Prayer is the beginning of a better relationship with God.  Without prayer, we are lost. I wake every morning and sit down to pray. I start out by thanking God for all that He has given me. Even if the day before wasn’t a great day, I still thank Him and praise Him for His blessings. I then pray for His guidance in my life. I ask Him for the things in my heart to be fulfilled and then leave it to Him to process in His own time. I pray for my family and friends who I know are suffering or hurting. Lastly, I pray for Him to just come into my heart and show me how to love Him more abundantly so that I can love myself and others the way that He loves me.

Prayer can be hard for some people. They simply don’t know how to talk to God. Even if it’s just the Lord’s Prayer, start your day with it. Then talk to God, respectfully, as you would talk to anyone else. Pour out your heart to Him. It will get easier as you go and you will reap the benefits. A calmer, peaceful heart.

Take a moment today to pray for our nation. Attend a service if you can. How powerful today will be as people all around our country come together and simply PRAY.

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

