“Resolution #2”

A few weeks ago I wrote about The Resolution for Women, specifically Resolution #1 and said that I would write about each one as I read through the book. I read #2 a couple weeks ago and I have put off writing about it because I needed to do my homework in order to feel like I could discuss it and put it into my own words. I’m not going to lie, this was a hard one for me. Honestly, it’s not something I would have agreed with a couple of years ago but as I have changed and been changed by the amazing man in my life, Resolution #2 makes a little more sense to me.

Resolution #2: I will champion God’s model for womanhood in the face of a postfeminist culture. I will teach it to my daughters and encourage its support by my sons.

God’s model for womanhood is described in Ephesians, Chapter 5, Verse 22-33 which says, “Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Saviour. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.”

Now, I have always been a bit of a stubborn, do-it-my-way kind of girl. Also, being in a past relationship where I felt belittled and as if I wasn’t even entitled to own thoughts, I shuddered at the idea of submitting to a man. The word “submit” makes me think of the husband having full control and the wife being a silent partner in the marriage, doing what he says and not having an opinion or voice of her own. But as the book says, submission is simply choosing, not being forced, to let the husband lead the way and take control of necessary responsibilities. Not oppression, but submission. The husband respects the wife and doesn’t make her feel inferior to him. There is respect, mutual agreement and communication. This is something I never knew was possible until Greg came into my life. There is a great article that I will post at the bottom of this blog that goes into this discussion much better than I can. I’m not sure I can give a great overview of the concept.

I will however try to describe how I now feel differently about this. In my own perspective, which may be off the mark. If it is, feel free to tell me. I went through a rough relationship for many years, as I have talked about before. I wasn’t able to do or say a lot without some type of negative feedback. Once the relationship ended, I became a single mom trying to make it on my own. I paid my own bills, did my own yard work, took care of the inside of my house as well, did repairs and took care of my daughter at the same time. I carried a full load constantly, to the point of exhaustion. But I was in control finally. Once Greg came into my life, he immediately wanted to help me with all I had to deal with. I kindly rejected his help because I didn’t want to relinquish the control I had over my life. Slowly though I began to realize that he wasn’t trying to control me or anything in my life. He was simply trying to help, as any good man should do. Not in an overpowering way, but he felt his role as the man in the relationship meant that he should take care of me. I fought this hard for a long time. Then I began to realize that it was okay to let someone take care of me. I didn’t have to be in control of every single thing. Heaven knows I was tired and I needed to do just that. It doesn’t mean I am weak. It means I am strong enough to know that I can’t do it all alone. It makes me a little happier and gives me more time to focus on myself and to just relax a little (when I actually allow myself).

Here’s the link to the article I mentioned above: http://www.reason4living.com/articles/totw0041.htm

What are your thoughts on this subject?

Leave a Reply

