Uncategorized

“Choose Hope”

Hope is the feeling we have that the feeling we have is not permanent ~Mignon McLaughlin
   
    Faith. Hope. Love. Three words we see quite often and try to live our lives by. I have always been drawn to the word faith. There is so much meaning behind it – the expectation of things unseen. Things only God can bring into being. Of course, love is an essential one as well. Without it, what do we have? We are drawn to it, give it, receive it and long for it from the time we are born.
     But today I choose HOPE. I don’t know why but that one word never stood out to me as much until yesterday when I read a quote that I came across.  I CHOOSE hope. We can have faith, have love, we can have hope but we have to choose it. It has to be a thought we aspire to each day. Today I choose hope over fear. Today I choose hope over negativity. Today I choose hope over stressful thoughts.
     The dictionary defines hope as “a feeling that something desirable is likely to happen”.  Choosing hope means that I am thinking positively. When I choose hope, I am saying to myself that I truly believe I can be completely free of what holds me down, holds me back and takes over my life. I am saying that along with my faith in God, I am hopeful also that he will allow good things to me. I am saying to myself that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. That light is my life. The darkness of the tunnel is only temporary.
     If I choose to go through the day thinking things will never change, then they won’t. If I give hope a chance I am giving life a chance. A chance for it to be all that God intended it to be. Life shouldn’t be survived. It should be lived. There have been many days where I have just been surviving. It’s time to get back to the living part of life.
Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God – Psalm 42:11

Leave a comment