“Good Enough?”

Hebrews 10: 22 Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water
First I want to start with saying that it never ceases to amaze me how God arranges situations and people to come into your life for a purpose. Somewhere out there in the world, someone is going through something similar to what you are going through. If this person comes into your life, you can be sure it is God’s hand at work. Someone such as this inspired this post.
Having said that, I want to talk about being “good enough”. Personally, I have struggled with this all of my life. Going through several months of pain and suffering earlier this year certainly didn’t help with that issue. Being brought to my knees more than once definitely made me feel less than normal, inadequate and overall, a failure. We all struggle with these issues though from time to time no matter what the circumstances. Am I a good enough mother, daughter, sister, friend, girlfriend, granddaughter? Am I a good enough christian? Am I good enough for God?
But whose standards are we judging ourselves against? Everyone has issues whether they are easily recognizable or not. More than likely that person you compare yourself to is doing the same thing. Comparing themselves to someone around them. We talk ourselves into believing we aren’t good enough or we let someone who has hurt us convince us we aren’t good enough. This kind of thinking leads to feelings of guilt and a total lack of confidence. We let ourselves be defined by what that person has done, or by comparing someone else’s life to ours. It’s a waste of valuable time.
Our worth is not based on past experiences, our personal thoughts of ourselves or other people’s opinions of us. Our value comes from what God says about who we are. He still loves me despite what I have gone through because I continue to lean on Him and trust in Him. It isn’t always easy and I’m not always as faithful as I should be but I want to be defined as a child of God.  He says we belong to Him. We are made in His image. He loves us as we are.
And isn’t that good enough?
Leave a Reply

