“The Drizzle”

100_3642a

God sometimes does His work with gentle drizzle, not storms – John Newton

And sometimes God does do his work in a storm but sends the drizzle as a gentle reminder that He doesn’t want us to stray.

I went through the storm. Actually, I would compare it more to a tsunami, hurricane and tornado combined. The waves beating so hard that my feet could not stand on the crumbling ground. The wind so fierce that my eyes couldn’t focus…tears flooding them from the sting. My mind swirling in a vortex of emotions…fear and doubt harassing me from all sides.

But guess what?

 I’m here.

I made it.

I’m okay.

I will always be a little battered but I’m fine.

The drizzle still comes from time to time. Sometimes it comes as a mist, a cue that I need cleansing. Other times, it may come harder, beckoning me to reach out farther for the One who brought me through the storm and to not forget that I need Him.

All day. Every day.

Accept the storms for what they are. A chance to return to God. To be comforted by His healing presence. Our flaws, trials and brokenness allow space for God to fill in the cracks and make us whole.

I will lift up my eyes to the hills. From whence shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth – Psalm 121: 1-2

3 thoughts on ““The Drizzle”

Leave a Reply

